ICC Champions Trophy Winners List


If you are here then you must be searching the ICC Champions Trophy Winners list 2024. Well, you are at the right place, here we will be looking at a full list on this topic. We recommend reading the full guide to know more.

ICC Champions Trophy is a tournament where players showcase their talent in One Day International (ODI) matches, which are shorter than regular cricket games. This tournament is super exciting because every match counts.

Teams play hard to win and make their country proud. Fans cheer loudly, waving flags and wearing team colors. It is very popular in India.

So, to know more about the ICC Champions Trophy winners list, make sure to read the full blog here. We have shared all the details here.

- Advertisement -

About ICC Champions

The ICC Champions Trophy is a big cricket tournament where teams from around the world compete. It’s like a battle of cricket skills! Held every four years, it brings together the top eight teams in the world.

It’s a fantastic opportunity for cricket lovers to see their favorite players in action.

The ICC Champions Trophy isn’t just about cricket but unity and sportsmanship.

Players respect each other, and even though they compete fiercely, they shake hands after the game. It’s a celebration of the spirit of cricket and the joy it brings to millions of fans worldwide.

Details of All Seasons

As you are here to find the ICC Champions Trophy winners list, you must know details about the seasons. Do you know in which year those seasons are played? Here are the full details:

Year Season Host Nation
1998 1 Bangladesh
2000 2 Kenya
2002 3 Sri Lanka
2004 4 England
2006 5 India
2009 6 South Africa
2013 7 England and Wales
2017 8 England and Wales


Format of ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is different from the World Cup in a few ways.

Firstly, it’s shorter, lasting about two and a half weeks compared to the month-long World Cup. Secondly, it has fewer teams. The World Cup might have 10 teams, but the Champions Trophy usually has 8 teams.

In 2002 and 2004, there were 12 teams in the Champions Trophy.

They were split into four groups of three teams each. The top team from each group went to the semi-finals, meaning a team only had to play four matches to win. This was different from knockout tournaments where losing one match meant you were out.

The 1998 edition had only eight matches, and the 2000 edition had 10 matches.

Since 2009, the tournament has had eight teams split into two groups of four. They play each other once in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group then go to the semi-finals. If a team loses even one match, they risk being eliminated.

This format means there are 15 matches in total, and the tournament lasts around two and a half weeks.

If you are watching IPL then for the second list of all matches you can Check Ipl 2024 Schedule.

Updated Winners List 1998 to 2023

The updated ICC Champions Trophy winners list has been shared here. We have made sure to give the correct details. You can check the winners from each year and the runner-ups.

Year Winner Runner-Up
1998 South Africa West Indies
2000 New Zealand India
2002 Sri Lanka and India None
2004 West Indies England
2006 Australia West Indies
2009 Australia New Zealand
2013 India England
2017 Pakistan India


Share This Article