Supreme Court: 9 Judges, Including 3 Women To Take Oath Today

Chris Steward
Chris Steward

Chief Justice of India (CJI) NV Ramana will administer the oath of office to nine new Supreme Court judges on Tuesday, including three women. Justice Vikram Nath, Justice BV Nagarathna, and Justice PS Narasimha are three of the nine new judges in line to become India’s chief justice. After the nine new justices are sworn in, the Supreme Court’s strength will rise to 33, including the Chief Justice, out of a sanctioned strength of 34.

This will be the first time in the Supreme Court’s history that nine judges will take the oath of office at the same time. Due to the coronavirus epidemic, the swearing-in event will be held in the auditorium of the Supreme Court’s extra building complex. New judges usually take the oath of office in the courtroom of the Chief Justice of the United States.

On August 17, the Supreme Court Collegium recommended these nine judges for appointment as Supreme Court judges. The warrants for their appointment as top court judges were then signed by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Since its foundation, the Supreme Court has had extremely few female judges, with only eight appointed in the last 71 years, beginning with M Fathima Beevi in 1989. After her promotion on August 7, 2018, Justice Indira Banerjee became the supreme court’s lone female judge. Supreme Court judges retire at the age of 65, while high court judges retire at the age of 62.

- Advertisement -

Here are the new nine judges to take an oath

1. Justice Vikram Nath: After sitting top court judge Justice Surya Kant retires in February 2027, Justice Nath, who was the chief justice of the Gujarat High Court, is in line to become the CJI. He would be succeeded by Justice Nagarathna, who would serve as the head of the judiciary for more than a month.

2. Justice BV Nagarathna: Justice Nagarathna was a high court judge in Karnataka. In September 2027, Justice Nagarathna will become the first woman Chief Justice of India. Justice Nagarathna, the daughter of former Chief Justice of India ES Venkataramiah, was born on October 30, 1962.

3. Justice PS Narasimha: Justice Narasimha was a former additional solicitor general and a senior advocate. Justice Narasimha would take over as CJI from Justice Nagarathna for a period of more than six months.

4. Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka (Chairman of the Karnataka High Court).

5. justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari: Justice Maheshwari was the Sikkim High Court’s chief justice.

6. Justice Hima Kohli: Justice Kohli was the Telangana High Court’s chief justice.

7. Justice CT Ravikumar: Justice Ravikumar was a high court judge in Kerala.

8. Justice MM Sundresh: Justice Sundresh served on the Madras High Court as a judge.

9. Justice Bela M Trivedi: Justice Bela M Trivedi was a Gujarat High Court judge.

Share This Article