Multiple penalties may be imposed on serving Central Government employees under the 7th Pay Commission

Seema Rai
Seema Rai

DoPT stated that the Disciplinary Authorities should clearly indicate in the punishment order whether the two penalties would run concurrently or consecutively

The Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) has issued a clarification on the imposition of the second penalty (or multiple penalties) on serving charged officers while the first penalty is still in effect.

The Department of Public Prosecutions (DoPT) stated in an Office Memorandum (O.M.) dated 28 October 2022 that the Disciplinary Authorities should clearly indicate in the punishment order whether the two penalties (or multiple penalties) would run concurrently or consecutively.  While awarding second or subsequent penalties during the currency of earlier penalty/penalties.

“It is clarified, however, that where such a specific mention has not been made, the two/all penalties should run concurrently and the higher penalty, even if ordered later, should be implemented immediately and after the expiry of its period, if the currency of the period of earlier punishment continues, the same may be implemented for the balance period,” it added.

- Advertisement -

The DoPT has explained the rules for the imposition of multiple penalties on serving charged Central Government Employees. Who receive their salaries according to the 7th Pay Commission Pay Matrix using various illustrations.

Pension CCS Rule Change

The Government recently notified an amendment to Rule 8 of the CCS (Pension) Rules 2021. According to the new rule, a retired Central Government employee’s pension and gratuity can be revoked if he or she is found guilty of grave misconduct or negligence while on the job. The amendment specified the authorities that can decide whether to withhold a retired employee’s pension, gratuity, or both.

LTC Rule Change

The Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) extended the relaxation to travel by air to the North East Region, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, and Andaman and Nicobar Islands under the CCS (Leave Travel Concession) rules 1988 earlier this month. The benefit has been extended until September 25th, 2024.

The LTC benefit is now available to new recruits, who can convert one of the three Home Town LTCs available to them over a four-year period to visit NER/A&N/J&K/Ladakh. They can also use an extra conversion of Home Town LTC to visit the UT of J&K/ UT of Ladakh in a four-year period.

Also Read: CarryMinati: Asia’s No. 1 Gamer With Over 37 Million Subscribers

Share This Article