Filmfare Awards 2024: Complete list of winners by category


Gandhinagar, in Gujarat, was the place to be this weekend if you wanted to mingle with the biggest Bollywood stars. Accordingly, The 69th edition of the Filmfare Awards 2024 which took place over two days in a lavish ceremony, saw the first-ever separate ceremony for the technical categories. Vikrant Massey’s 12th Fail and Ranbir Kapoor’s Animal the big winners of the event hosted by Karan Johar, also known as KJo to his friends.

The winners of the Filmfare Awards 2024

Best Film (Popular): 12th Fail

Best film (critics): Joram.

Best Director: Vidhu Vinod Chopra (12th Fail).

- Advertisement -

Best Male Actor in a Leading Role: Ranbir Kapoor (Animal)

Best Actor (Critics): Vikrant Massey (12th Fail)

Best Female Actor in a Leading Role: Alia Bhatt (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahani).

Best Actress (Critics): Rani Mukerji (Mrs. Chatterjee vs. Norway)

Best Supporting Actor (Male): Vicky Kaushal (Dunki).

Best Female Supporting Actor: Shabana Azmi (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahani).

Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya (Tere Vaaste).

Best Music Album: Animal.

Best Male Playback Singer: Bhupinder Babbal (Animal).

Best Female Playback Singer: Shilpa Rao (Pathaan)

Best Story: Devashish Makhija (Joram) and Amit Rai (OMG 2).

Best Screenplay: Vidhu Vinod Chopra (12th Fail).

Best Dialogue: Ishita Moitra (Rocky and Rani Kii Prem Kahani)

Best background score: Harshvardhan Rameshwar (Animal)

Avinash Arun Dhaware won best cinematography for Three of Us.

Best Production Design: Amit Ray (Sam Bahadur) and Subrata Chakraborty.

Sachin Lovelekar, Divvya Gambhir, and Nidhhi Gambhir (Sam Bahadur) awarded Best Costume Design.

Best sound design: Kunal Sharma (MPSE), Sam Bahadur, Sync Cinema (Animal).

Jaskunwar Singh Kohli – Vidhu Vinod Chopra has the best editing (12th fail).

Best Execution: Spiro Razatos, Anl Arasu, Craig MacRae, Yannick Ben, Kecha Khamphakdee, Sunil Rodrigues (Jawan).

What are the Film Fare Awards, and when did they begin?

For those who are unfamiliar with them, the Filmfare Awards, established in 1954 by Filmfare magazine of The Times Group, are prestigious annual awards that recognise excellence in India’s Hindi-language film industry. The awards, originally known as the “Clare Awards” and inspired by the Academy Awards, widely regarded as one of the most prestigious film events in the country. The Filmfare Awards are distinguished by their dual voting system, which was introduced in 1956 and involves both the general public and an expert committee in the selection process. But in contrast to the National Film Awards, which determined by a government-appointed panel. But the Filmfare Awards take a more inclusive approach.

Over the years, the ceremony—which was held in Mumbai—has experienced modifications, such as sponsorship by a number of private organisations. The event was originally televised live in the 1990s but was subsequently cancelled. Although a week or two following the live event, a taped and edited version of the awards ceremony has broadcast on television since 2001. Although in 2018, the ceremony shifted to the Colours channel.

Although the Filmfare Awards were probably the most prestigious and well-known awards in the film industry until the mid-1990s, the appearance of multiple additional awards in Mumbai has resulted in a drop in popularity since the 2000s. Regardless, the Filmfare Awards continued to be a significant recognition of artistic and technical successes in the Indian film industry.


Share This Article