Bengaluru defeated Mumbai City 2-1 to win the Durand Cup Updates Winner Trophy

Seema Rai
Seema Rai

Mumbai City FC vs. Bengaluru FC, Durand Cup 2022 final Match Highlights-

About Durand Cup Updates Winner Trophy

The Durand Cup is one of India’s most reputable tournaments. This year’s tournament was even more special because it included all ISL teams. This change has greatly benefited the young players, with most teams fielding second-string teams to test their bench strength. As a result, a large number of young players drew fans’ attention and announced their entry into the Indian football vertical. Overall, the ISL’s precursor event will aid clubs in determining their final squad.


The 131st Durand Cup will begin on August 16, 2022, at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata. The final was held at the same location on September 18. It was founded in 1888 and is Asia’s oldest football competition. This year’s competition featured 20 teams (11 ISL teams, five I-League teams and four teams from the Indian Armed Forces).

durand 2022

- Advertisement -

The Durand Cup 2022 was held in five different locations across three different states. The designated venues are Salt Lake Stadium, Naihati Stadium, Kishore Bharati Stadium (West Bengal), Khuman Lampak Stadium (Imphal, Manipur), and Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (Guwahati, Assam).

BFC defeated MCFC 2-1 to win their first ever Durand championship Updates Winner Trophy

Sunil Chhetri added another flag to his cap after Bengaluru FC defeated Mumbai City FC 2-1 in the summit match in Kolkata on Sunday. The only trophy missing from the trophy cabinet of 38-year-old Chhetri. Who is nearing the end of his career, was the Durand Cup, but after Sunday’s match, his trophy cabinet appears to be complete. Bengaluru FC has won every major Indian competition since its inception in 2013. The Blues won their first Durand Cup with targets from Sivasakthi and Alan Costa.

durand bengaluru 2022

Manoj Pande, Chief of Army Staff, West Bengal Governor La Ganeshan, and West Bengal Sports Minister Aroop Biswas present the Durand Cup-2022 trophy to Bengaluru FC squadron leader Sunil Chhetri. At Kolkata’s Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan stadium.

Share This Article